Return to Headlines

AASSP Alaska's Principal of the Year - Dave Dershin | April 2024

April 4, 2024 – Press Release from Alaska Association of Secondary School Principals
The Alaska Association of Secondary School Principals (AASSP) is proud to announce the Alaska Principal of the Year for 2024 is Dave Dershin, principal of Randy Smith Middle School in Fairbanks, Alaska. 
Principal Dershin received his Bachelor's Degree in Geology and Teaching Certificate from the University of Indiana. He completed his Master's Degree in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Alaska Fairbanks.
Principal Dershin has served as a Principal in the Fairbanks North Star Borough School District since 2011. He served as Principal at Lathrop High School from 2011 to 2014, before becoming principal at Randy Smith Middle School.
Rick Dormer, President of AASSP, said Principal Dershin has been an exemplary leader in Alaska for many years. "His calm demeanor and caring advocacy for kids have made him an effective leader who certainly deserves this recognition as Alaska Principal of the Year." Dormer added, "It has been an honor to work with and learn from Dave through his service on the AASSP Board."
When it comes to leadership at Randy Smith Middle School Principal Dershin said, "I've always been an educator who believes in building genuine relationships with students while maintaining high expectations for all." He shared that, "Receiving this award speaks to the quality of the people I have had the honor of working with over the years."
Dr. Luke Meinert, Superintendent of the Fairbanks North Star Borough School District, said, "Principal Dave Dershin's selection as Alaska's Principal of the Year is a tremendous and well-deserved achievement that reflects his outstanding leadership and deep commitment to student success." Dr. Meinert added that, "Dave has a great heart for education that shines through in everything he does. We are proud to have such a dedicated, visionary principal representing the Fairbanks North Star Borough School District."
Each year, the AASSP State Principal of the Year winners are submitted for consideration to be the NASSP National Principal of the Year. Principal Dershin will travel to Washington, D.C., to represent Alaska this fall for the NASSP Principals Institute.