Return to Headlines

Alaska ACTE Award Winners - Joni Simpson and Andrea Wade

Alaska ACTE 2022 Award Winners

Congratulations Andrea (left) and Joni (right)!

At the recent Alaska Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) Conference, out of six total awards, two Fairbanks school district professionals were recognized for their outstanding work in our state and district.

  • Career Guidance Award: Andrea Wade, CTE Career and Curriculum Coordinator, Fairbanks North Star Borough School District
  • CTE Leadership Award: Joni Simpson, CTE Director, Fairbanks North Star Borough School District

Career Guidance Award - Andrea Wade

This award recognizes school counselors and career development and workforce development professionals who have demonstrated commitment to connecting students with opportunities for success, shown innovation in career exploration and development, and have advocated for CTE.

  • Criteria: Contributions to student success. Innovations in career exploration and development. Leadership in advocating for CTE as a viable option for all students.

CTE Leadership Award - Joni Simpson

This award recognizes administrative CTE professionals who have demonstrated leadership in ensuring teacher and student success and made significant contributions toward innovative, unique, and effective career and technical education programs.

  • Criteria: Contributions to teacher and student success. Innovations in CTE. Leadership in the local or greater CTE community. 

Read the ACTE press release.

Alaska ACTE is a professional organization that provides leadership in advocacy, professional development and works to build an effective CTE network across Alaska. Members have access to professional learning opportunities through the Alaska CTE Learn portal. The association also recognizes outstanding CTE practitioners and community leaders with the Alaska CTE awards. It also serves as a liaison for CTE stakeholders to network and advance high quality CTE programming in Alaska.