Return to Headlines

Eleven FNSBSD Schools Earn Purple Star Awards | April 15, 2022

Eleven schools in the Fairbanks North Star Borough School District received the Purple Star Award during a ceremony at Lathrop High School on Friday, April 15, 2022. The Purple Star Award is designated for military-friendly schools that are committed to supporting the unique educational and social-emotional needs of military-connected families. In total, 20 Alaskan schools were honored that met the unique requirements of the award.
The ceremony was emceed by Lathrop High students and included Lathrop JROTC, concert choir, cheerleaders, Hunter Elementary’s Choir (2nd and 3rd graders), speeches from Alaska Department of Education and Early Development Commissioner Dr. Michael Johnson and Military Interstate Children's Compact Commission - MIC3 Acting Commissioner Terry Ryals, followed by award presentations.
Before and after the event, Chief School Administrator Karen Melin, toured 6 of our Purple Star Schools with DEED Commissioner Dr. Michael Johnson, MIC3 Commissioner Terry Ryals, Fort Wainwright Army Garrison Commanders Colonel Nathan Surrey and Command Sergeant Major Ruben Murillo Jr., and Eielson Air Force Base Colonel Stuart Williamson. The tour included a visit to Arctic Light Elementary, Lathrop High, North Pole High, Ben Eielson High, Anderson Elementary, and Crawford Elementary. During the visit to North Pole High, student leaders had the opportunity to meet and have lunch with the dignitaries. Lunch was made and served by students and staff from the NPH Culinary Program. They did an amazing job! Thank you to the statewide and military leadership that participated in the ceremony, walked the halls of our schools, and met with staff and students. It was a full and memorable day.
Thanks to students from Hutchison High School for streaming the event. Watch the ceremony here:
Learn more about the Purple Star Awards: