About Us


    Welcome to Joy Elementary School. Construction of our original circular school began July 21, 1960. It was completed and dedicated as Louis F. Joy Elementary on November 9, 1961. Louis F. Joy was Fairbanks City School Board President and a member for over 25 years. Lee S. Linck, the school’s engineer, and architect received an award for the school’s unique and beautiful design at the 1962 Seattle World Fair. The school was temporarily closed between 1986 and 1989 for remodel and expansion.

     Joy serves students in preschool through seventh grade. Our current population is just over 440.


    Our vision at Joy is to empower students to acquire, demonstrate, articulate and value knowledge and skills that will support them as life-long learners. They will contribute, participate, and thrive in a changing society while practicing the core values of the school: respectful, responsible, safe and involved.


    Our mission is to enable all learners' access to learning through the provision of:

    • targeted instruction, flexible content and tools, data-driven decisions, and student reflection and ownership

    • in-depth and cohesive learning aligned to State of Alaska learning targets at each grade level

    • highly effective teachers focused on improving student outcomes through their commitment to ongoing professional development, quality teaching, evidence-based practices, coaching and mentoring, and collaboration

    • a quality inclusive learning environment that is responsive to student voice

    • a safe social and emotional learning environment supported by positive, encouraging relationships built in vertical family units

    • opportunities for community and parents to participate in learning and decision making partnerships


Contact Information

  • Address
    24 Margaret Avenue
    Fairbanks, AK 99701

    School Hours 
    Students: 9:00 am - 3:30 pm
    Office: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

    Stacy Foshee
    Interim Elementary Principal
    (907) 456-5469 x 36501

    Amber Zellweger
    Elementary Administrative Secretary
    (907) 456-5469 x 36501

Last Modified on June 9, 2021