• A letter to Alaskans from Commissioner Dr. Michael Johnson ...

    Dear Fellow Alaskans,

    As part of the ongoing implementation of Alaska's Educatioin Challenge, the Department of Education and Early Development (DEED) is working with school districts to support success in every school. Utilizing Alaska’s plan for the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) as a strategy for closing our achievement gaps, DEED is providing school designations for Alaska’s families.

    There are three types of school designations: Comprehensive Support and Improvement (CSI), Targeted Support and Improvement (TSI), and Universal Support. The primary purpose of these school designations is to provide information for families, tribes, communities, educators, and policy makers to plan and support an equitable education for each student in Alaska’s public school system.

    DEED will continue seeking input and recommendations from all Alaskans as we work to improve our system of public education and provide an excellent education for every student every day.


    Click here to find out more about our schools System for school Success.