Career & Technical Education Advisory Committee

  • The Fairbanks North Star Borough School District is dedicated to preparing students for life after high school. Whether students choose to attend a four-year university or pursue a technical career, the district's schools should be providing them the tools they need to succeed.

    The workplace environment students enter after graduation is constantly changing and becoming increasingly technical. The district's Career and Technical Education programs provide a diverse student population with a dynamic and meaningful educational experience that will prepare them to succeed in that environment.

    The Career and Technical Education Advisory Committee works to ensure the district is keeping pace with the work environment.

  • 2023-2024 Career and Technical Education Advisory Committee Meeting Schedule

    • Meeting Date - Wednesday, January 31, 2024
    • Meeting Time - 3:00-4:00pm 
      Agenda                  Meeting Notes   


    • Meeting Date - Thursday, September 21, 2023  
    • Meeting Time - 4:00-4:45pm via Zoom
      Agenda                  Meeting Notes               



    Unless otherwise noted, committee meetings will be held in the Administrative Center, 520 Fifth Avenue.

Contact Information

Current Committee Members

  • Career and Technical Education Committee Membership

    District Administration Chair (Non-Voting)
    Sarah Gillam, Assistant Superintendent
    Andrea Wade, Career & Technical Education Director

    School Board (Non-Voting)
    Brandy Harty, President

    FEA Representative
    Peter Daley, Hutchison High School

    FPA Representative
    Robyn Taylor, Hutchison High School

    Student Representative

    Tara DeVaughn

    UAF Career Technical College Representative
    Keith Swarner

    Business/Industry/Trades, Organized Labor, Government Representatives
    Andrea Gelvin, Gelvin Professional Training
    John Denny, Fairbanks Pipeline Training Center
    Karen Lapp, Foundation Health
    Missy Lizotte, Department of Labor
    Juanita Webb, Explore Fairbanks
    Cathy Winfree, UAF/CTC Faculty
    Rodney Wolcott, Local 375 Plumbers & Pipefitters

    Invited Guests
    Kate Hall, Executive Director, Special Education
    Virva Elliott, English Language Learner Director
    Anna Sprague, Counselor
    Brianna Gray, Executive Director, Student Support Services
    Georgia Sandgren, Military Student Support Coordinator

    Committee Staff Support
    Audra Forsman, Work-Based Learning Coordinator
    Julie Luddington, CTE Technician


Last Modified on February 2, 2024