Diversity Advisory Committee

  • The Fairbanks North Star Borough is a diverse community, and the school district embodies that diversity. In the '90s, the Board of Education organized a standing committee to address issues of racial respect in the district. Made up of eleven members, this committee advises the administration on matters pertaining to the education of students of all diversities. These dedicated community volunteers keep the board informed of specific concerns of the district's diverse population and help find ways to encourage minority students and parents to become involved in school activities.


2017-18 Meeting Dates

    • Thursday, April 12, 2018 from 5:30-7:00 p.m. 
      Agenda Packet            Meeting Notes             Audio

    • Thursday, January 18, 2018 from 5:30-7:00 p.m. 
      Agenda Packet            Meeting Notes             Audio

    All committee meetings will be held in the Administrative Center, 520 Fifth Avenue, Fairbanks

Contact Information

Committee Members

  • Diversity Committee (16 members)

    • District Administrative Chair: Tanya Coty, EEO Director
    • School Board: Sharon McConnell, Member
    • FEA Representative:  Maxine Dibert
    • ESSA Representative: Flora Roddy
    • FPA Representative: Barbara Wiley
    • Parent Representatives (3): Carrie Bragonier, Jay Stebbins, Tresha Nash
    • Student Representative: Tayler Alonzo-Taggart, West Valley High School
    • At Large Community Representatives (7): Brianne Gray, Jazzanne Gordon-Fretwell, Rose O'Hara-Jolley, Alyssa Quintyne, Ana Richards, Marilyn Russell, Ashley Strauch

    Administrative Support
    Tanya Coty, EEO Director
    Kristen Roberts, EEO Secretary & Committee Support