School Board Meeting Status & Updates

  • In-Person Meeting Attendance, Public Testimony & Meeting Access Options During COVID-19 State-Declared Mandates & Public Health Emergency

    While under the direction of the COVID-19 mandates, School Board meetings will be held by video conference for board members and district administration, hosted from the Board Room of the Administrative Center, 520 Fifth Avenue, as well as, live-streamed from the district’s webpage, broadcast on GCI Cable – Channel 14, and audio-recorded for next-day website posting.  Additionally, Regular Meetings will be broadcast through the free NPR app and live on KUAC-FM 89.9 radio from 7:00 p.m. to adjournment.


    Board meetings remain open to the public and in-person testimony will be taken, within the parameters of the State of Alaska COVID-19 Mandate 7.1.  Please note, while these mandates are in effect, only 10 people may be in the Board Room at any time, including limited district staff. Once 10 people are in the room, district staff will not allow anyone else to enter. If you are in the Board Room, you are required to maintain 6 feet of distance between yourself and others.


    In order to comply with the social-distancing and gathering limitation mandates, community members are strongly encouraged to testify via email to Testimony emailed to the School Board for a Special and/or Regular Meeting will be read into the public record of the applicable meeting. Guidelines for electronic testimony are the same as for in-person testimony - emails must include a person's first and last name and city of residence. As with in-person testimony, email, when read into the public record, will be limited to 3 minutes.


    Thank you for your diligence in complying with these mandates and for your patience as we navigate these new procedures.


    April 2020 Cancelled Meetings & Events (as of April 1, 2020)

    • CANCELLED – April 2 at 5:30 pm – Curriculum Committee Meeting
    • CANCELLED – April 13 at 5:30 pm – Parent Engagement Committee Meeting
    • CANCELLED – April 15 at 5:30 pm – Budget Committee Meeting
    • CANCELLED – April 16 at 5:30 pm – Curriculum Committee Meeting
    • CANCELLED – April 23 at 5:30 pm – Diversity Committee Meeting
    • CANCELLED - April 29 at 4:00 pm - Career Technical Education Advisory Committee Meeting


Fairbanks North Star Borough Board of Education Members

  • The School Board is composed of seven, elected officials, each elected at-large, for three-year staggered terms.

    NOTE: Written communications with public officials generally are considered a public record and subject to disclosure (viewing and/or copying of the communication) pursuant to a public records request.

Wendy Dominique, President

  • Wendy Dominique









    520 Fifth Ave
    Fairbanks, AK 99701
    (907) 388-6649
    Committee(s): Legislative
    Seat G, expires October 2020


Erin Morotti, Treasurer

  • Erin Morotti

    PO Box 57137
    North Pole, AK   99705
    (714) 296-8665
    Committee(s): Audit & Budget

    Seat A, expires October 2021


Jennifer Luke, Member

  •  Jennifer Luke

    520 Fifth Avenue
    Fairbanks, AK 99701
    (907) 687-6897
    Committee(s): Legislative & Diversity

    Seat D, expires October 2022


Matthew Sampson, Member

  • Matthew Sampson

    520 Fifth Avenue
    Fairbanks, AK 99701
    (907) 978-1976
    Committee(s): Policy

    Seat C, expires October 2022


Colonel Christopher Ruga, Post Representative

  •  Colonel Christopher Ruga

    1046 Marks Road #6000
    Ft. Wainwright, AK 99703
    (907) 353-7660


    Appointed position, advisory vote


Timothy Doran, Vice President

  • Timothy Doran 








    512 Windsor Dr.
    Fairbanks, AK 99709
    (907) 712-4772
    Committee(s): Legislative & Parent Engagement

    Seat E, expires October 2020


Chrya Sanderson, Clerk

  •  Chrya Sanderson

    3498 Rosehip Dr.
    North Pole, AK 99705
    (907) 488-3866

    Committee(s): Curriculum
    Seat B, expires October 2021


Sean Rice, Member

  • Sean Rice  






    2521 Clydesdale Drive
    North Pole, AK 99705
    (907) 388-4607

    Committee(s): Career Technical Education Advisory Committee

    Seat F, expires October 2020


Colonel Chad BonDurant, Base Representative

  • Colonel Chad BonDurant

    354 Broadway Street, Suite 12A
    Eielson AFB, AK 99702
    (907) 377-9651



    Appointed position, advisory vote


Jessica Eid, Regional Student Council Representative - Ben Eielson High School

  • Jessica Eid

    675 Raven's Way
    Eielson Air Force Base, AK   99702
    (907) 372-3110


    Appointed position, advisory vote



Last Modified on Monday at 6:35 PM